Back in Pera, Constantinople. Not much of consequence to write about lately, as I’ve been preparing for the newest addition to our family! It’s a bit unnerving to be preparing for this so far from home, but mother’s here are so greatly respected that I can’t help but feel some of that respect myself. On the hand though, women without children are really looked down upon. It seems it's better to be an unwed mother than a married woman without children!

The women go to extremes to prove that they are not past childbearing age and often kill themselves in the process. In fact, all the women I’ve met who have been married 10 years have close to 12 or 13 children each and when they’re pregnant, they pray for twins. I asked some of my friends here how they can care for so many children, they simply explain that many are likely die before growing up (which I guess does happen often). But they don’t seem to care, giving birth is enough to satisfy their vanity. I’m afraid I will remain very English in this area…

But now that I’ve discussed what you want to read about, I have to brag a little about the beautiful weather! I'm quite fond of the climate: while you huddle next to your heaters at home, I’m sitting in the sun, feeling the warm breeze, and enjoying fresh cut flowers from the garden. I’m also quite fond of certain aspects of Turkish law. Here, anyone convicted of lying is burnt on the forehead with a hot iron. I wonder how many English “gentleman” would have to grow their hair out if we adopted this practice at home… ;)

I’d say more but I must go see the midwife!




Leave a Reply.